Speaker contacts opposition for unhindered speech of PM

Rich results on Google SERP when searching for 'NA on TLP'

7-Party Coalition in the Federal Government, Independent Members Eyed for Ministries

ISLAMABAD- June 29, 2021- National Assembly on Tuesday, approved Finance Bill 2021 with certain amendments, later the session was adjourned till tomorrow.

The opposition’s claims that the budget would not be approved remained unsubstantiated.

Leader of the Opposition Shahbaz Sharif and majority of PML-N members were absent from the House.

Nawab Yousuf Talpur challenges verbal approval 

During the session, Finance Minister Shaukat Tareen introduced the Finance Amendment Bill 2021-22, which was strongly opposed by the opposition. The House took verbal approval of the motion to introduce Finance Bill which was challenged by Nawab Yousuf Talpur after which the Speaker directed to count.

Amendments in the finance bill

Non-filer tax evasion will be arrested if the tax evasion exceeds Rs 100 million. Non-filer tax evasion will be arrested if it exceeds Rs 25 million. A 7% reduction in poultry feed sales tax has been proposed. Poultry feed sales tax has been increased to 10% instead of 17%. Federal excise duty on small vehicles has been reduced by 2.5 per cent.

Sources said that Prime Minister Imran Khan will address the National Assembly tomorrow.

Prime Minister Imran Khan will address the House after the approval of supplementary grants.

According to sources, matters will be settled with the opposition before the Prime Minister’s speech.

The Speaker’s Office has decided to contact the Opposition on this issue so that the Opposition does not obstruct the Prime Minister’s speech.

In today’s session, the federal budget was approved with amendments.

14 members of PML-N were missing. Out of 56 PPP members, 54 were present in the House while 2 members were absent due to infection with Corona virus. Five government amendments passed while all opposition cuts were rejected by a majority.

Prime Minister Imran Khan, Asif Zardari, Bilawal Bhutto, Syed Khurshid Shah and Ali Wazir attended the production order exclusively, but Leader of the Opposition Shahbaz Sharif and BNP (Mengal) chief Akhtar Mengal did not attend the meeting.