PTI announces schedule for intra-party elections


PTI announces schedule for intra-party elections

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has officially announced the  timetable for its upcoming intra-party elections, scheduled for February 5th (Monday), as disclosed by the central media wing of the party in a statement on Thursday.

Rauf Hasan, the party’s spokesperson, has been designated as the federal election commissioner for this process.

In the announcement, the PTI Federal Election Commission conveyed the pleasure of announcing the election schedule for the Intra-party Elections (IPE) of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, aimed at selecting the Chairman, Central, and Provincial Organisations.

According to the PTI statement, all party members registered by January 31 will have the opportunity to cast their votes for their preferred panel or chairman candidate at specified locations nationwide. Additionally, party members can utilize the ‘Raabta Application Intra Party Election Module’ to record their votes.

The Election Rules, 2020, outlining the details of participating panels and the election procedure, will be accessible on the official party website and the Raabta application.

Polling will commence at 10 am and conclude at 4 pm, with details about election venues and the appellate tribunal set to be announced on February 1, 2024.

Nomination papers for potential candidates can be acquired from the PTI central secretariat or website starting from February 1 to 2, 2024. The deadline for submitting nomination papers is 10 pm on February 2, 2024. Candidates can submit their papers at central and provincial secretariats, as well as digitally via email.

The scrutiny of nomination papers for intra-party election candidates is scheduled for February 3, 2024. In case of paper rejection, the window for submitting objections will remain open until 10 pm on February 3, 2024.

The finalized lists of panels participating in the intra-party election will be published on the website at 4 pm on February 4.

The official announcement of the intra-party election results is slated for Tuesday, February 6, 2024.