KU to seek legal opinion on 2-year degree programmes

Rich results on Google SERP when searching for '2 Year degrees in Sindh'

Karachi University teachers end protest

KARACHI: University of Karachi Academic Council advised to seek legal opinion regarding Sindh government advertisement on two years bachelors and masters degree programmes.

The Academic Council meeting of the University of Karachi held on Monday advised to seek the legal opinion regarding the provincial government advertisement on two years’ bachelors and masters degree programs.

A five member committee headed by Prof Dr Jamil Hassan Kazmi was constituted with Dr Zaheer, Dr Nasiruddin Khan, Dr Anila Amber Malik, and Dr Naeem Khalid from the college-side as members.

Vice Chancellor Prof Dr Khalid Mahmood Iraqi presided over the Academic Council meeting.

The Academic Council also decided that admissions in MPhil, PhD programs for the year 2021 would be given as per varsity’s existing admission policy.

It was also decided that a detailed report regarding the new PhD policy recently introduced by the Higher Education Commission-Islamabad, would be sent to the HEC as the varsity needs some clarification in this regard.

Meanwhile, the KU would conduct a written test for the MPhil, PhD, MS, MD programs 2021 which was postponed last year due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The meeting also decided that a student after obtaining a degree in a master’s program from the University of Karachi as a regular student in the morning program would be eligible to do another master’s in any department in the evening program.

Similarly, permission would be granted to students who want to take admission in a diploma course in any department in the evening program after completing studies in the morning program.

Moreover, the Academic Council approves the nominations of Prof Dr Iqbal Azhar, Prof Dr Nasreen Fatima, and Prof Dr Maqsood Ali Ansari as the nominee of Academic Council on the Board of Faculty of Education for three years.

The Academic Council also approved that MS (Anesthesiology) would be now called MD (Anesthesiology).