Asif Ali Zardari elected as Pakistan’s 14th President in landslide victory

Asif Zardari

Asif Ali Zardari elected as Pakistan's 14th President in landslide victory

ISLAMABAD, March 9,2024: In a landmark electoral triumph, Asif Ali Zardari, representing the ruling alliance, has clinched the presidency of Pakistan by a substantial margin.

Zardari’s victory marks the first time a civilian president has been elected for a second term in Pakistan’s history.

The electoral count revealed Zardari’s overwhelming support, with a total of 411 votes in his favor, while his closest competitor, Mehmood Khan Achakzai of the Sunni Unity Council, secured 181 votes.

Zardari’s dominance was evident across various legislative bodies. In the Parliament, he garnered 255 votes, whereas Achakzai received 119 votes. The Sindh Assembly also favored Zardari with 58 electoral votes, while Achakzai managed to secure only 3 votes.

In the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, Achakzai obtained 40.80 votes, compared to Zardari’s 7.62 votes. Notably, Zardari swept all 47 votes in the Balochistan Assembly, leaving Achakzai without any electoral support.

As Zardari assumes the presidency for a second term, his victory signals a significant political milestone in Pakistan’s democratic journey.