Yousaf Raza Gilani elected as Chairman Senate unopposed

Gilani yousuf raza

Yousaf Raza Gilani elected as Chairman Senate unopposed

In a remarkable turn of events, Yousaf Raza Gilani, the prominent leader of the People’s Party, has been elected as the Senate Chairman unopposed. Simultaneously, Sardar Syedal Khan Nasir of the Muslim League-N has secured the position of Deputy Chairman Senate unopposed.

The absence of any opposing candidates underscores the resounding support garnered by Gilani and Nasir within the Senate. The official oath-taking ceremony for the newly elected Chairman and Deputy Chairman Senate is scheduled for 12:30 noon.

The Senate session, presided over by Ishaq Dar, witnessed the swearing-in of successful senators from the recent by-elections.

PTI senators boycott 

However, the proceedings were not without disruption, as PTI’s Zarqa Suhrawardy staged a vehement protest during the oath-taking ceremony, highlighting the charged atmosphere within the House.

The PTI senators, known for their vocal dissent, initiated a boycott of the Senate Chairman and Deputy Chairman elections.

Senator Mohsin Aziz, in a significant statement, challenged the validity of the election process, emphasizing the absence of representation from the KPK region, thereby casting doubt on the legality of the proceedings.

The ongoing developments in the Senate reflect a dynamic political landscape, marked by both acclaim and dissent, as the newly elected officials assume their roles in the upper house of the parliament.