Who will be next Speaker in the NA, Chairman Senate

Gilani yousuf raza

Yousaf Raza Gilani elected as Chairman Senate unopposed

Who will assume the roles of Speaker in the National Assembly and Chairman in the Senate is currently a subject of discussion between the Muslim League (N) and the People’s Party, as they explore possibilities for collaboration on constitutional positions.

Reports said that the Pakistan People’s Party, led by Asif Ali Zardari, is eyeing the prestigious post of Speaker of the National Assembly.

Former Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani stands out as a strong contender for the role within the People’s Party, while the incumbent Speaker, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, expresses a keen interest in serving a second term. Ashraf maintains a close relationship with Asif Ali Zardari, further complicating the decision-making process.

According to the party’s perspective, Yusuf Raza Gilani is considered to have higher chances of securing the position.

Traditionally, if the Speaker hails from Punjab, the Deputy Speaker is selected from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The tradition of appointing a Deputy Speaker from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa has seen figures like Murtaza Javed Abba, Faisal Karim Kundi, and Zahid Akram Durrani in the past. Sardar Muhammad Yusuf, a successful PML-N candidate from Hazara Division, is a probable choice for the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly.

Within PML-N, Murtaza Javed Abbasi emerges as a formidable candidate for Deputy Speaker, having lost his seat but maintaining strong support.

In the case of Ishaq Dar not being appointed Finance Minister, he is positioned as a potential candidate for the Chairman of the Senate; otherwise, Azam Nazir Tarar is the alternate choice. The Deputy Chairman of the Senate is traditionally chosen from Balochistan, and Z. Farwab predicts this tradition will continue, with Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haidari, Jan Jamali, Sabir Baloch, and Noor Jahan Panizai having previously held this position.