New party position emerges in National Assembly

Rich result son google SERP when searching for 'National assembly'

Newly elected National Assembly likely meet on Feb 29

A notable shift in party position has surfaced within the National Assembly following the allocation of specific seats, with fresh positions carving their place in the political arena.

The Muslim League (N) has emerged as the frontrunner, clinching a significant presence with 123 seats, securing its status as the largest party in the assembly.

Breaking down their tally, PML-N secured 75 general seats, bolstered by the addition of 9 independent members. Additionally, they garnered 34 seats reserved for women and 5 seats reserved for minorities.

In a closely contested scenario, the Sunni Unity Council has garnered 82 seats, closely trailed by the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) with 73 seats.

The PPP claimed victory in 54 general seats, complemented by 16 women seats and 3 minority reserved seats.

Further diversifying the assembly’s composition, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) secured a total of 22 seats, with 17 in the general category and 5 divided between women and minority representation.

Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI) clinched 11 seats, of which 6 were in the general category, while securing 4 reserved seats for women and 1 for minorities.

The Stability Pakistan Party (IPP) established its presence with 4 members, 3 of whom secured general seats, while 1 clinched a reserved seat for women.

Meanwhile, the QL saw a modest increase to 5 members, securing 3 general seats, with an independent member bolstering their ranks, alongside 1 reserved seat for women.

Other parties including Majlis Wahdat al-Muslimeen (MWM), Muslim League (Z), BAP, BNP Mengal, National Party, and Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party each secured one seat within the assembly.

Presently, the assembly accommodates 8 independent members, with an exception in NA-8 Bajaur where elections were not held, and the notification of NA-146 Khanewal pending ratification.