LB by-elections: Polling continues in 24 districts of Sindh


LB by-elections: Polling continues in 24 districts of Sindh

KARACHi, May 7,2023- Polling is underway in 24 districts of Sindh for the local bodies – LB by-elections which will continue uninterrupted from 8 am to 5 pm.

Conflict at polling station in Hyderabad

In Hyderabad, the polling process was stopped after an altercation at the polling station of Government Shaheed Millat School of UC 119.

Women supporters of the independent candidate have alleged that political party workers barged into the polling booth.

In this regard, the police say that the polling station was vandalized and the ballot boxes were broken.

According to the police, the agitators took election and other materials with them, action is being taken against the elements involved in the rioting.

In Karachi, Hyderabad, Sukkur, Jacobabad, Shikarpur, Ghotki, Khairpur, Nowshehro Feroze, Shaheed Benazirabad, Sanghar, Umarkot, Matiari, Tand Allahyar, Jamshoro, Dadu, Badin, Thatta and Sajawal, 63 seats in the by-elections. But the candidates are being selected.

Votes are being cast in 11 union councils of West, Central, Korangi, South and Kemari districts of Karachi.

Elections could not be held on these seats due to the death of the candidates.

Where is the voting taking place in Karachi?

By-elections are being held in

. Two UCs of New Karachi Town and one UC of North Nazimabad Town in Central District of Karachi.

. Two UCs of Orangi and 1 UC of Mominabad in West District,

. UC No. 2 of Baldia Town in Kemari

. UC No. 2 of Lyari Town in South.

Hyderabad, Dadu, Thatta and other places also polling

In Hyderabad, polling is being held on the seats of Member District Council, Chairman, Vice Chairman and General Council. Voting is being done on three seats each in Naushro Feroze, Dadu and Thatta.

Polling is going on for two seats each in Ghotki, Sukkur, Khairpur, Badin and Sajawal while polling is going on for one seat each in Jacobabad, Kashmore, Shikarpur and Nawabshah.

Polling is also being held in one seat each in Sanghar, Matiari, Tondo Allahyar and Jamshoro.